Event management is made up of five areas of management:

  • Design
  • Administration
  • Marketing
  • Operations
  • Risk

The EMBOK term for these areas is Knowledge Domains. Every event manager, from festival organisers to conference planners, must manage each of these areas. They represent the temporary Departments or Divisions of the event management.

The Domains can be subdivide as shown below. For the sake of symmetry the Domains are subdivided into seven Classes.

The Classes can be further subdivided.

Note that the order of the classes does not imply their priority. Different types of events will have different priorities for each of the Classes.

More information on EMBOK Domains please go to Julia Rutherford Silver's website.

Copyright Information

All content is for educational purposes only. Any content and images are the copyright of International EMBOK Executive/members, or their respective rights holders. 

Creative Commons Licence
The International Event Management Body of Knowledge (EMBOK) by International EMBOK Executive is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at www.embok.org.